Mode of Multiplication of Bacteriophages

Two modes of multiplication cycle in Bacteriophages namely lytic cycle and lysogenic cycle.


Lytic cycle :
Lytic cycle or lytic phages called as Virulent phages. Multiples inside the host bacterium and new viral particles comes out by lysing  or by rupturing the host bacterial cell wall.
Example: T phages, T2,  T4, T6 etc…

Lysogenic cycle :
Lysogenic cycle or lysogenic phages called as temperate phages. It does not undergo multiplication or induce lysis, here the viral DNA get integrated into the bacterial DNA without causing lysis.
Example: Lambda phages.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s